“I keep hearing about a program called ADSAP. Do I need to enroll? How?”
Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program
In South Carolina, the “Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program” (ADSAP) is an alcohol and drug intervention program. It is run through the Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS).
There are several circumstances that prompt enrollment in the mandatory statewide education and treatment program.
- Individuals convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration (DUAC) – must enroll within 30 days of conviction
- Individuals referred for boating under the influence (BUI)
- Individuals whose license has been suspended through the following ways through the state’s Administrative License Revocation (ALR) procedure. (The Notice of Suspension is given at the time of the DUI arrest)
- Drivers under the age of 21 who have been drinking
- Drivers who blow a .15 or higher
- Drivers who refuse to take a blood, breath or urine test upon law enforcement request
If your license remains suspended after contesting it in the Administrative Hearing, OR if you do not contest the suspension within the 30 day timeframe, you must successfully complete the alcohol and drug safety action program in order to have your license reinstated.
ADSAP Appointment in SC
Call your local office to make an enrollment appointment. You will need to bring the following to the meeting:
- Photo ID
- $500 ($100 additional fee if out of state driver)
They accept cash, check or credit card except Amex
- An official SC driving record
The SC DMV can produce this for you. (If you have an out of state license, because you received the DUI in South Carolina, you can obtain a driving record from the SC DMV. If you are told no at the counter, ask to speak to a supervisor. While you are waiting, give your local ADSAP office a call to have them verify it for the supervisor if need be.)
Once you bring the above items to your enrollment appointment, you will be set up for an assessment to determine treatment. The education program is a minimum of 4 weeks of classes which cost $500. Following your assessment your counselor may determine you need additional treatment, which may cost up to $2,000. The total amount for classes and treatment will not exceed $2,500.
If you have an out of state license, you will be set up with a counselor who handles out of state cases. You will be asked to provide some documents from your home state during this process.
ADSAP Course Completion
Once you complete ADSAP, you will take your certificate of completion to the DMV to get your license back. Of course, your DUI may still be pending, so you will need to deal with that. If you are convicted, you may face other challenges with your license.